Milwaukee Community Justice Council
  • Refine Search

  • All Results

CJC Executive Committee

Overview & Purpose

The Milwaukee Community Justice Council (CJC), created by Milwaukee County Board resolution in 2007, is made up of Milwaukee-area criminal justice agencies and local governments working collaboratively to ensure a fair, efficient, and effective justice system that enhances public safety and quality of life in our community. The Council is governed by an Executive Committee of named leadership from key government organizations.

The CJC functions as an independent entity governed by key criminal legal system leaders and is empowered to:

Define broad justice system goals

Monitor/analyze justice system performance

Facilitate collaboration among justice system partners to enhance performance

Provide technical assistance to ensure adherence to evidence-based principles

Act as a conduit between the justice system and the larger community

All without impacting the autonomy or decision-making authority of any criminal justice system agency. (Adopted 3/19/2014). 

Named Committee Members
Carl Ashley (Chair) Chief Judge, First Judicial District (Milwaukee County)
Thomas Reed (Vice-Chair) Vice-Chair, Regional Attorney Manager, Wisconsin State Public Defender
David Crowley County Executive, Milwaukee County
John Chisholm District Attorney, Milwaukee County
Denita Ball Sheriff, Milwaukee County
Willie Johnson, Jr. Board Representative, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
Cavalier Johnson Mayor, City of Milwaukee
Jeffrey Norman Police Chief, City of Milwaukee
Niel Thoreson Regional Chief, Wisconsin Department of Corrections - Community Corrections
Gregory Haanstad US Attorney, Eastern District of Wisconsin
Constance Kostelac Director, Milwaukee Homicide Review Commission and DataShare
Walter Lanier Community Member Representative
Chantell Jewell Superintendent, Milwaukee County Community Reintegration Center
Shakita LaGrant-McClain Director, Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services
Margaret Daun Corporation Counsel, Milwaukee County
Phil Chavez Presiding Judge, City of Milwaukee Municipal Court
Anna Hodges Clerk of Circuit Court 

Contact us if you are interested in presenting at a CJC Executive Committee meeting or

would like to request a presentation from CJC members on a specific topic related to the criminal legal system

Milwaukee Community Justice Council


633 West Wisconsin Avenue - Suite 406, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

(414) 435-1250




This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System