Milwaukee Community Justice Council

CJC Standing Committees

Overview and Information

Milwaukee County has confirmed cases of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) and more cases have been identified in the U.S. It's important that everyone take steps to reduce the spread. Find out more about COVID-19 and our ongoing response.

The Milwaukee Community Justice Council accomplishes much of its work through standing, interagency committees. Current active committees are listed below.  Click each title for additional information and to learn more about the work underway.

Contact the CJC to be added to committee meeting invitations and notices.


Community Engagement Committee

(meets as needed)

The mission of the Community Engagement Committee is to help facilitate effective communication between the Council and the community at large. This committee is responsible for seeking public input and identifying ideas and concerns that the community has with the criminal justice system. This committee is also responsible for educating the public about initiatives, programs and services supported by the Council. By engaging the community, this committee plays an essential role in furthering the mission of the Justice Council, which is to work collaboratively to ensure a fair, efficient, and effective justice system that enhances public safety and quality of life in our community.

Co-Chairs: Walter Lanier and Judge Carl Ashley

Data Analysis & Information Committee

(meets every 4th Monday, 8:30am, Courthouse Room 609)

Focused on improved data quality, information sharing across multiple agencies and organizations, and assigned tasks by the Executive Committee, the Data committee works to gain a comprehensive look into our current system by accessing decision points through data analysis on where the System can improve.

Co-Chairs: Mallory O'Brien and Stephanie Garbo

Jail & Huber Utilization Committee

(meets every 3rd Monday, 8:00am, Courthouse Room 609)

Jail and Huber committee members are focused on establishing sustainable diversion, alternative and inmate programs as well as developing and implementing a quantifiable reduction in incarceration levels consistent with public safety goals.

Chair: Tom Reed

Juvenile Justice/JDAI Committee

(meets quarterly)

In March 2013, the CJC Executive Committee adopted a motion by the Milwaukee County District Attorney and seconded by the Chief Judge, that the JDAI Advisory Committee would represent the Juvenile Justice Standing Committee of the CJC and report to the CJC Executive Committee.  If you would like more information regarding JDAI in Milwaukee County, please contact Site Coordinator, DeShell Parker, at

Co-Chairs: DeShell Parker and Judge Joseph Donald

Mental Health Committee

(meets every 1st Monday, 2pm, Safety Building Room 607)

Created in September 2013, the Mental Health Committee is tasked with improving the justice system's handling of those with behavioral health issues. Its goal is to prevent unnecessary criminal justice involvement of those with behavioral health issues and to improve the treatment of those who do go through the system. Made up of criminal justice agency representatives, behavioral health professionals, and mental health advocates, the Mental Health Committee uses data driven strategies to identify the group of individuals in our community at greatest risk of cycling between these systems and utilizes interagency collaboration to encourage immediate, ethical, and efficient system responses to those individuals.

Co-Chairs: Tom Reed, Kent Lovern and Michael Lappen

The Milwaukee Reentry Council

(meets every 4th Wednesday, 2:00pm, Location Varies)

The Milwaukee Reentry Council is a community-facilitated, reentry committee created by the Milwaukee Community Justice Council in late 2016.  The Reentry Council is comprised of multi-sector entities and reentry advocates working together to better serve populations reentering the community from periods of incarceration (both jail and prison).

Purpose: The purpose of the Milwaukee Reentry Council is to reduce recidivism in Milwaukee by 50% within 5 years, by broadening and deepening community engagement and commitment to this work.

Meeting Facilitator: Conor Williams (Public Policy Institute, Community Advocates)

Milwaukee Community Justice Council


633 West Wisconsin Avenue - Suite 409, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Mandy Potapenko, Director

(414) 435-1250




This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System