
FOOD MANAGER CERTIFICATION / 
RECERTIFICATION 
 

er WI Statutes Chapter 254.71 and the adoption of the WI 
Food Code applicable to all Food Establishments, each 
licensed food establishment operation must have at least 

one manager or operator certified in food protection practices. 
 
The operator or manager of an establishment that is new or 
undergoing a change-of-operator shall have a certified food 
manager within 90 days after the business opens or provide 
documentation that they are scheduled within 3-months to take 
and pass an approved exam.  This requirement is applicable with 
the effective date of the WI Food Code.  12-201.11 
 
What does Certification mean? 
 
Certification requires that the food establishment permit holder 
or manager pass one of four DHFS approved exams which tests 
basic knowledge of food protection practices.  Safeguarding 
patron health is a primary concern of food operations.  Food 
manager certification is Wisconsin’s food safety agencies’ first 
level of assurance that operations have a basic understanding of 
food safety laws and principles. 
 
Does certification apply to all food 
establishments? 
 
No. Certification is required for most DHFS food establishments 
but not all.  Simple food establishments that serve only single 
service, individual, already pre-wrapped foods from a licensed 
food distributor or serve/sell only non- potentially hazardous 
foods are exempt from the certification requirement. Operators 
of Temporary Restaurants are exempt from this requirement.  
Only DATCP establishments that engage in restaurant activities 
are required to have a certified food manager. Call your 
licensing authority.   
 
Can an operator with more than one food 
establishment have the same individual as their 
certified manager at all locations? 
 
No.  Each food establishment must have its own and unique 
certified manager.    
 

 
The Operator’s Responsibilities 

The operator is required to promptly notify the regulatory 
authority when the designated certified manager terminates 
employment with their food establishment and supply the 
regulatory authority with the name and state certification 

number of the new certified manager.  The current certified 
manager’s certificate must be conspicuously posted on the 

premises. 
 

The regulatory authority could be an agent local public health 
department, your DHFS Environmental Health Specialist or 
your DATCP Food Safety Inspector.  Contact our office for 

specific departments or individuals. 
 

 
 
How do I obtain certification? 
 
Certification involves: a) taking and passing a DHFS approved 
exam and b) applying for state certification. 
 
After the exam is taken and passed, the individual must apply 
for DHFS certification by submitting all of the following: 
 
• Proof of passing one of the exams by providing a copy of 

an official written statement of certificate from the testing 
organization-indicating passage of an examination 
approved for initial certification. 

• A check or money order made out to the Department of 
Health and Family Services in the amount of $10.00. 

• A completed State of Wisconsin Food Manager 
Certification application form. 

 
The operator or designated manager must take one of four state-
approved examinations.  These exams are listed with this 
brochure.  A variety of private and public organizations have 
been authorized by the testing organizations to administer the 
approved examinations and teach food manager certification 
courses.  These organizations are listed with this brochure.  The 
Division of Public Health only approves the exams and has no 
control over training courses for initial certification. 
 
Must I take a class in order to pass the 
exam? 
 
No.  The Division of Public Health only requires the passing of 
an approved examination.  An individual’s background and 
knowledge may vary.  The type and amount of study and course 
work are dependent on the individual.  However, most 
examination organizations offer the examination as part of a 
course on food protection practices. 
 
What is covered on the exam? 
 
The certification exam tests basic knowledge of safe food 
handling practices and includes but is not limited to: 
• Food source and storage 
• Employee Health 
• Personal Hygiene 
• Temperature control of potentially hazardous foods 
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• Effective hand washing 
• HACCP Principles and Practices 
• Prevention of food borne illness 
• Equipment cleaning, maintenance, and storage practices 

 Manager responsibilities and duties, Etc. 
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Cost of the exam varies with the examination organization that 
administers it.  Cost depends on whether the exam accom
a text, classroom instruction, or other training aids.  For 
information regarding course/exam cost and schedules, contac
one of the organizations listed with this brochure.  No matter 
who pays for the training, exam or certification, the certificate 
belongs to the individual person who i
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the approved examination, the certificat
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If an individual is applying for reciprocity from another state’s
certification requirement, the WI certification will expire five 
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What examina
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The following
certification: 

ServSafe (SS) Examination, by the Education
of the National Restaurant Association. 
The National Registry of Food Safety Profes
Safety Manager Certification Examination  

•
 
 
 
Information regarding the above examinations ca
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Details of the Food Manager Certification Program are availab
in Chapter 12 of the WI Food Code.  Consult our web site at: 
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code/hfs/hfs196_app.pdf 
 
 

Recertification 
 
All food manager certifications expire five years from th
of issuance with the exceptions mentioned.  

e date 
A state approved 

recertification-training course is required to renew food 
manager certification.  Only a course, not an exam, is 
minimally required for recertification.  Although repeating a 
written examination will suffice for the recertifcation 
requirement.  The intent of recertification is to provide 
ontinuing education for the food manager.  
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How do I become recertified? 
 
In rder to renew a Food Manager Certificate, a certifie
ma ager must meet all of the following requirements for 

rtification: 
Complete a state approved recertification course; 
Submit a cop
organization that administered the state approved 
recertification/certification co
completion; 

• Or, take and pass another WI approved examination,
same as initia

•
• Submit a check or money order for $10.00 with the 

application. 
 
GRACE PERIOD: All certified food managers have 6 months 
from the date of expiration to renew their certifications by 
attending an approved recertification course.  If a food manager 
has not renewed their certification within the 6-month grace 
period, their certification can only be renewed by taking and 
passing a DHFS approved examination required for initial 
certification. 
 
Persons requesting recertification may do so up to one year 
before the expiration date of their food manager certifica
There will be no penalty for early recertific

te.  
ation.  Renewal 

ertificates issued within the 12-months of a certificate’s 

ficate.  

c
expiration date will be effective from five years from the 
expiration date of the original certi
 
Where can I get information regarding certification 
courses and examinations? 
 
You may obtain information about certification courses and 
exams on the attached sheet.  For further information regarding, 
ertification applications, to submit certification materials or for 

ions providing certification 

blic Health 
nal Licensing 

608-266-2835, 608-261-8361 
Fax: 608-267-3241 
kaplajh@dhfs.state.wi.us

c
a completed listing of organizat
exams or recertification courses, contact: 
 
The Division of Pu
Food Safety and Recreatio
James Kaplanek  
P. O. Box 2659 
Madison WI 53701-2659 
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